Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

Children in EYFSEvery child deserves the best possible start in life and support to fulfill their potential. A child’s experience in the Early Years has a major impact on their future life. A secure, safe and happy childhood is important and provides the foundation for children to make the most of their abilities as they grow through school life. We work closely with parents to gain an insight into their child’s interests, to provide the best possible learning opportunities. At Our Lady of the Rosary, learning through play underpins the delivery of the Early Years curriculum.


Children in EYFS

The curriculum covers six areas of learning. These are:

  1. 1. Personal, Social and Emotional Development

  2. 2. Communication and Language

  3. 3. Physical Development

  4. 4. Literacy - Reading and Writing

  5. 5. Mathematics - Number and Shape, space and measure

  6. 6. Understanding of the World

  7. 7. Expressive Arts and Design

We will provide well planned experiences based on the children’s interests both indoors and outdoors, with staff supporting children to learn with enjoyment and challenge.